Professional & Technical Committee

The Technical Committee meets four times per year to discuss issues and problems which have come to light within the maritime industry.

Lt Cdr (SCC) Derek Ireland MBE MRIN JP RNR


Email –

The committee is directed under the chairmanship of Lieutenant Commander (SCC) Derek Ireland RNR. Mr Andrew Bell is the the Deputy Chairman of the committee, in addition to being the co-ordinator for the Joint Informal Meetings. The secretary to the committee, Mrs Alison Harris, as well as minuting each meeting, collects and distributes papers and looks after the technical section of the library. In addition to the five working groups, the Technical Committee is also made up of a number of appointees to various external committees.

Current Committee Members

Lt Cdr Derek Ireland (Chairman)
Mr Andrew Bell (Deputy Chairman)

Captain Jim Barclay
Captain Robin Batt
Dr Phil Belcher
Dr Steve Bonsall
Lt Cdr Richard Brooks RN
Captain John Bussell
Mr Steve Cameron
Professor John Carlton
Captain Derek Chadburn
Captain Jim Chapman
Commander Les Chapman RN
Captain Steve Donkersley
Mr Nick Dowden
Mr Hew Dundas
Captain Geoff English
Captain Tim Ferguson

Captain Garry Hallett
Captain Philip Hanton
Commodore Andy Jordan RN
Captain Patrick Lawson-Earley
Captain Mike Lloyd
Captain Peter McArthur
Captain Chris McDade
Captain Phil Pannett
Captain Simon Richardson
Captain Neale Rodrigues
Captain Mike Rowland
Captain John Simpson
Captain Susie Thomson
Captain Jon Vine
Captain John Wright

Scroll to Top